Everything’s smaller in Texas (and Colorado)

Have you ever thought to yourself, “Wow, I would love a Frappunccino. But twelve ounces is just too much for me.” No? Me either. Nevertheless, Starbucks is currently testing in the Denver and Houston markets a Mini Frappuccino product in a ten-ounce size. Being in Houston, I didn’t realize this wasn’t a national roll-out until several weeks after I first saw the drink appear in stores. Since then, I’ve tried a couple different Mini beverages, including a Pumpkin Spice Latte Mini (pictured below next to a Grande Iced Coffee) and a Caramel Frappuccino Lite (the Lite varieties are also available in this smallest Frapp size).

I had also heard that not every type of Frappuccino was available in this minimized version, but the tag line I’ve seen around town is “Available in all your favorite flavors.” And I’ve not yet been told that I can’t have something reduced to the ten-ounce size. I can see where some of the confusion about available varieties comes from though. In a promotional booklet for the Mini Frappuccino, there is a list of ten flavors, which is most definitely not an exhaustive list of Frappuccino varieties one can order. The booklet also includes a place for stickers for each Mini ordered; six stickers grants the holder a free Grande Frappuccino.

Has anyone in Denver or Houston tried the Mini? Anyone else interested in seeing this across the country? Would it really make you consider ordering a Frappuccino two ounces smaller than the next larger size and a few cents cheaper?

photo 2   photo

2520 University Boulevard, Houston, TX 77005 (Village Arcade I)/5801 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77005 (5801 Kirby)

Thoughts?