GUEST POST: The Makings of a Mocha

Though most days here in Dallas still hover in the scorching 90s, I couldn’t wait to get my first taste of fall from Starbucks. Of course I’m familiar with the Pumpkin Spice Latte, and it is definitely a seasonal favorite (read frequent order) of mine. However, on this particular day my interest was piqued when I noticed the Salted Caramel Mocha on the menu. It sounded like a drink that would satisfy my craving.

I managed to snap a few photos while my drink was being made. See below what it takes to make this delicious drink.

After adding pumps of chocolate and the salted caramel syrup, the barista pours the steamed milk.

photo 4

Next up is the whipped cream!

photo 3

And now for a drizzle of caramel sauce.

photo 2

To top it all off, some caramel flavored sprinkles! Masterpiece complete!

photo 1

208 S. Akard Street, Dallas, TX 75202 (AT&T Global Headquarters – Lobby) September 2014

I did enjoy this drink, and it certainly satisfied my craving for a seasonal treat, but the next time I order it, I will probably ask them to put in only half the number of chocolate pumps (this is also how I order my Peppermint Mochas later in the year) because the chocolate flavor is very rich. And a tip for those of you who are not huge coffee drinkers: try the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate!

2 comments

    • tallgrandeventi

      Hello! A Grande Salted Caramel Mocha with nonfat milk and no whipped cream has approximately 290 calories. That count jumps to about 430 calories for a drink of the same size with 2% milk and whipped cream topping.

Thoughts?